Partner Pulse March 2013 – Top Excel© Tip

How to create a shared workbook so that several people can edit the contents simultaneously.  By using a shared workbook you can allow several people to edit the contents simultaneously whilst tracking the progress of your work and updating the information.

by Excel On Steroids

Question:       � How can I create a shared workbook so that several people can edit the contents simultaneously?

Answer:            By using a shared workbook to collaborate

Why:              � Can be used to track the progress of the user’s work and update information

Applies To: Excel 2003, 2007 and 2010

  1. The following screen shot will be used to illustrate this example

2.         Select as below:

3.         Select as follows:

4.         On the Advanced tab, select the options that you want to use for tracking and updating changes, and then click OK

5.         Save the workbook to a shared network folder

NOTE:   Not all features are fully supported in a shared workbook. If you want to include any of the following features, you should add them before you save the workbook as a shared workbook. You cannot make changes to these features after you share the workbook.

In a shared workbook, you cannot:

  • Create an Excel table
  • Insert or delete blocks of cells
  • Delete worksheets
  • Merge cells or split merged cells
  • Sort or filter by formatting
  • Add or change conditional formats
  • Add or change data validation
  • Create or change charts or PivotChart reports
  • Insert or change pictures or other objects
  • Insert or change hyperlinks
  • Use drawing tools
  • Assign, change, or remove passwords
  • Protect or unprotect worksheets or the workbook
  • Create, change, or view scenarios
  • Group or outline data
  • Insert automatic subtotals
  • Create data tables (data table: A range of cells that shows the results of substituting different values in one or more formulas. There are two types of data tables: one-input tables and two-input tables.)
  • Create or change PivotTable reports
  • Create or apply slicers
  • Create or modify sparklines
  • Write, record, change, view, or assign macros
  • Add or change Microsoft Excel

The following functionality is available:

  • You can insert entire rows and columns
  • You can sort or filter by number, text, or date, apply built-in filters, and filter by using the Search box
  • You can use existing conditional formats as cell values change
  • You can use data validation when you type new values
  • You can view existing charts and reports
  • You can view existing pictures and objects
  • You can use existing hyperlinks
  • You can view existing drawings and graphics
  • You can use existing passwords
  • You can use existing protection
  • You can use existing outlines
  • You can view existing subtotals
  • You can view existing data tables
  • You can view existing reports
  • Existing slicers in a workbook are visible after the workbook is shared, but they cannot be changed for standalone slicers or be reapplied to PivotTable data or Cube functions. Any filtering that was applied for the slicer remains intact, whether the slicer is standalone or is used by PivotTable data or Cube functions in the shared workbook.
  • Existing sparklines in a workbook are displayed after the workbook is shared, and will change to reflect updated data. However, you cannot create new sparklines, change their data source, or modify their properties.
  • You can run existing macros that don’t access unavailable features. You can also record shared workbook operations into a macro stored in another nonshared workbook.

If you have any suggestions for an Excel Tips & Tricks topic, or you would like help with a particular function, please email enablement@alchemex.com and yours could be the next Tip of the Week.

Leave a reply

Pour oublier votre commentaire, ouvrez une session par l’un des moyens suivants :

Logo WordPress.com

Vous commentez à l’aide de votre compte WordPress.com. Déconnexion / Changer )

Image Twitter

Vous commentez à l’aide de votre compte Twitter. Déconnexion / Changer )

Photo Facebook

Vous commentez à l’aide de votre compte Facebook. Déconnexion / Changer )

Photo Google+

Vous commentez à l’aide de votre compte Google+. Déconnexion / Changer )

Connexion à %s